Help me find my place - Mothering Forums
Birth Professionals > Help me find my place
maydaymom10's Avatar maydaymom10 02:18 PM 10-01-2013

I am hoping that you all can help me organize my thoughts and figure out where I best fit in the world of birth professionals.

I started training as a birth doula in 2012, mostly because of my love for birth and my desire to support women during pregnancy and birth. I became pregnant in June 2012 and because of that, have only attended a handful of birth. I had my older son at a SABC and my daughter at home. As a doula I've only had the opportunity to attend hospital births, but I was fortunate enough to attend two homebirths as a midwife's assistant before my daughter was born. Since her birth (in Feb 2013) I've attended 2 more hospital births and am scheduled for 2 more before the end of the year. I realize that this makes me a relative newbie in the world of birth professionals. In addition to my doula work, I am a certified personal trainer with a specialty certification of working with prenatal and postpartum women. I've started exploring how to expand this service.

Here's my dilemma. I dislike hospital births. I am not comfortable in that environment and am not getting the fulfillment that I thought I would. My midwife assistant experiences have been better. I think this is also due to having more of a clinical roll, as I used to work in the medical field and crave that hands-on aspect. I've thought about going the midwifery route, but it's just not the best option right now due to having 2 small children. I love the idea of working as an assistant, but I don't know if that's the smartest idea seeing it usually doesn't pay anything. In addition, my daughter has some serious separation anxiety and is having a really hard time when I leave to attend births -- which for me tends to be 12+ hours.