too much relaxin? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-19-2006, 02:59 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have a first meeting tomorrow with a potential client. (I'm a student doula.) I'm a bit concerned about something, though. The mother has been taking these vitamins from over the internet....which would be okay....except I'm not sure they are completely safe.

Let me expand, has anyone heard of a pregnant woman producing too much relaxin? According to the father, around 3 months of pregnancy she began to limp. It continued to get worse, she used a cane. Now at 5 1/2 months pregnancy, she is using a walker and is hardly able to get around!!! I've never heard of such a thing. Please enlighten me if this is a real condition. My first thought was...are these natural "vitamins" she is taking having some play in this condition?

Not sure which one she is taking, but I know it is one of these: http://www.lifezone.com/supplements.html

Please help me on this one. I'm stumped.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-19-2006, 11:49 AM

There's nothing unusual in those ingredient lists. I Googled the vanadium in the first supplement and it has a functionality similar to chromium.

It would really help if you knew which supplement she's taking. Since one of them had just iron and magnesium it would be possible that it could create a calcium deficiency.
Old 10-19-2006, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter

Okay. Thanks for your input.
Old 10-19-2006, 01:53 PM

Could it be pubic symphosis? I know that it can be incredibly painful to when you have it.
Old 10-19-2006, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter

Oh, you are awesome heartandhandsdoula. I googled that term, that sounds exactly like what she has. Thank you so much!
Old 10-19-2006, 08:18 PM