Is it common practice to break up cervical scar tissue... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 05-13-2008, 12:31 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
MULTIPLE times before the onset of labor? She had an earlier cryosurgery and OB is "breaking up the tissue" at each visit starting at 36 weeks... From the description, it sounds to me as if the OB is stripping membranes...and at 36 weeks, she has lost her plug.

IS this common practice? Needing multiple "trys" to break up all the tissue in weekly "installments?" I have only ever experienced a practitioner breaking up scar tissue during labor.

Mama to two awesome kids. Wife to a wonderful, attached, loving husband. I love my job-- I'm a Midwife, Doula and Childbirth Educator, Classes forming now!

#2 of 10 Old 05-13-2008, 12:59 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Never heard of it. Might work.

Homebirth Midwife biggrinbounce.gif

After 4 m/c, our stillheart.gif is here!

#3 of 10 Old 05-13-2008, 01:01 AM

It'll be an easier labor if the doc can get the scar tissue broken up before it starts. I don't think it's necessarily a bad plan. The membranes are going to be stripped in the process.
#4 of 10 Old 06-23-2008, 09:51 AM

I would love to hear how this went. I had scar tissue that would not break after many many many prostaglandin gel treatments and even the use of cytotek. After 30 hours of induction my OB broke the scar tissue (it hurt like crazy). I did not dilate fast enough after that and was given a c-section. I wish there was more knowledge out there about the possibility of complications for people who had had these procedures and the way midwives and doctors can and have dealt with them that DIDN'T lead to a c-section.

Mama to babygirl.gif 3/2007, vbac.gifbabygirl.gif 10/2009,  angel.gif 3/2012, vbac.gifbabygirl.gif 2/2013

#5 of 10 Old 06-23-2008, 11:04 AM