Tubal Ligation pros & cons - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 06-01-2008, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I know a vasectomy is much less invasive, but my husband is not ready to go there. What are your thoughts about TL? Are there any additional possibilities for complications/side effects for women who had a c-section? Thanks!

Kristin
#2 of 8 Old 06-01-2008, 10:42 AM

Would you consider an IUD as an alternative? Lasts between 5 to 10 years and gives you good contraception while waiting for dh to be ready.

Stacia -- intrepid mama, midwife, and doula. Changing the world one 'zine at a time.
#3 of 8 Old 06-01-2008, 11:08 AM

I am no expert, I can share what I know/ think. I know that its very difficult to reverse, so you need to be very sure. I don't think there are complications. There is a rare chance of ectopic pregnancy. I don't think that there any addition complications if you have had a c-section. I had a TL during my second c-section, and neither my midwives or OB mentioned complications. They just stressed how difficult it is to reverse.
#4 of 8 Old 06-01-2008, 10:50 PM

http://www.tubal.org/
this site gives loads of info, good place to start
#5 of 8 Old 06-01-2008, 11:13 PM

I remember a few years ago an MDC mama going through menopause at 20-something after her tubal. Her baby was only a few months old, she lost her milk, it was very sad.
#6 of 8 Old 06-02-2008, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks for the link. I found a similar site and made up my mind that TL is not for me. And I finally got my post-preg hormones in balance, so I don't need any chances of going there again...

Quote:
Originally Posted by queenofchaos View Post
http://www.tubal.org/
this site gives loads of info, good place to start