I want to be a midwife. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 25 Old 06-05-2008, 03:19 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have thought about this for several years now. I would absolutely love to be a midwife. I have perused a few websites but I'd really appreciate any personal insight you may have to offer concerning what route I should take. I have an associate's degree in Biology from a local community college and I took a few classes at a state university. I'll have to use financial aid. Any suggestions or comments? Thanks in advance.

Mom to a bright & energetic 6 y.o. boy  blahblah.gif   With my sweetie for 10 years now  blowkiss.gif  Registered nurse  caffix.gif

#2 of 25 Old 06-05-2008, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter

Bump

Anyone?!

Mom to a bright & energetic 6 y.o. boy  blahblah.gif   With my sweetie for 10 years now  blowkiss.gif  Registered nurse  caffix.gif

#3 of 25 Old 06-05-2008, 01:57 PM

Have you weighed CNM vs. CPM? That's your first step, I'd say.

You might get more play in Birth Professionals.

"If you only knew how many things I want to say and don't, you'd give me some credit."
#4 of 25 Old 06-05-2008, 01:57 PM

Where I live you find a midwife to apprentice under. id write moe but my keyboard is dying....bateries are out lol
#5 of 25 Old 06-05-2008, 02:01 PM

In a couple of years I plan on going to the Frontier School...that's for CNM. I agree that you need to decide what KIND of midwife you want to be, what the legalities are in your state, etc.

Jess ~ RN & student CNM, Blogger (see profile), wifey to T-Rav & momma to sons Buggy ~7/04 & Newt ~1/08 & Tad 6/19/09 & Con-man 1/11!  <3
#6 of 25 Old 06-05-2008, 02:30 PM

I am going to be enrolling in AAMI in the near future. I've decided to get the "studying" part well underway before i get an apprenticeship, as i would like for my kiddos to be a little older

Midwifery Student and Mama to 2 daughters and 3 sons.