Dopplers on Ebay - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-12-2008, 12:38 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am looking for a doppler for use in case a fetoscope isn't appropriate during births. ( i am an apprentice). I found a bunch on Ebay for waaay less than at the conventional resources for dopplers. Anyone have any experience with these or have a recommended seller if they have purchased off ebay?

Apprentice midwife, partner, mother to two boys 5 and 2 1/2 :::
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-12-2008, 12:48 AM

Location: out in the country-somewhere in Indiana and Michigan!
I have heard that some have had a good experience, I did not. Doppler worked long enough for me to give the guy a good eval....then it quit working.....

Midwife, Wife, Mother of 5 (6) and "Ga-Ma" to 5 adorable grand children...
Old 06-12-2008, 01:44 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
I also had a bad experience buying one on ebay. I thought I was getting a good deal but the doppler turned out to be broken and cost as much to fix it as to just buy the same doppler brand new. I wish I would have just gotten the brand new one right off the bat and saved myself $220.

Erika, mama to three beautiful kids (plus one gestating), and wife to one fantastic man.

Old 06-12-2008, 02:15 AM

I bought one for my doula (who is also an apprentice midwife and my friend) off of ebay for $150. It is a Huntleigh (i think) and she has had it almost two years and it has worked fine. So i suppose there are some that are okay.

Midwifery Student and Mama to 2 daughters and 3 sons.     
ribboncesarean.gif vbac.gifhomebirth.jpg I have given birth a variety of ways and I am thankful for what each one has taught me.

Old 06-15-2008, 09:56 AM

hi there-
i have this doppler:
http://www.1cascade.com/ProductInfo.aspx?productid=2570

with a 2 mhz waterproof probe.