Do painful menstrual cramps = painful labor? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 07-25-2008, 12:43 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a Bradley instructor and one of my students is really concerned
about the correlation between painful cramps and painful labor.

Forgive my ignorance, but I thought menstrual cramps were related
to the ovaries and fallopian tubes and had nothing to do with the uterus.

Please help. My student tells me that her cramps are "debilitating" and often render her unable to work. She is very scared. Is there any connection between painful menstrual cramps and painful labor?

Thank you in advance for any advice!

warmly,
Mary
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 20 Old 07-25-2008, 12:56 AM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Actually, for years I suffered from dysmenorrhea (sp?), which translates into unexplained painful periods. I'm talking DEMEROL didn't touch them. One time the ER tried Nubain (I was vomiting from the pain and in danger of dehydration), and that actually worked for a while, but then I had an allergic reaction to it, just about the time I was really comfortable...

But I digress. I have, out of my mother's six sisters, three Aunts who also had those types of period.

Of my forty cousins and those three Aunts, those of us who had the terrible awful, horrible periods actually seemed to have the EASIEST labors. To the point where my aunt finished a hand of Euchre sitting up cross legged in bed with no drugs when the baby started to crown, and I had a homebirth midwife leave my house an hour and a half before I had my second because I was OBVIOUSLY too comfortable to be in active labor. Doesn't mean that I didn't work hard to relax and let my body do it's job...but I firmly believe that knowing the physiology of what my body was doing was a fantastic help to my ability to relax and let my body do it's job of having a baby!