Should midwives assist in c-sections? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 02-04-2011, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm a student midwife writing a paper about midwives assisting OBs at sections. I am discussing the positive and negative sides and looking for your stories. I would especially like to hear from you are a midwife who assists in surgery, but I would also like opinions from those who did not. I am particularly examining the issues of continuity (is it better preserved by the mw being involved in the delivery or not), professional relations (how do the midwife and doctors work together, or not), and the promotion of natural childbirth (does it go against the midwifery ideals and goals, or not).

Please only post if you are ok with me quoting you in my paper.

#2 of 11 Old 02-04-2011, 08:40 PM

Not a midwife (mom and doula)- I'm not comfortable with the idea of a midwife assisting in a C-section. It seems wrong, out of place. I think that it would make sense for a midwife to sit in with a mom during a C-section, at the head of the table, for support, but not to be operating on her.

Midwife (CPM, LDM) and homeschooling mama to:
13yo ds   10yo dd  8yo ds and 6yo ds and 1yo ds  
#3 of 11 Old 02-05-2011, 05:12 AM

Maybe it would be good for you to clarify what you mean by 'assist' in csections...I mean, nurse-midwives are first, nurses, and it seems possible some if not all of them would be qualified to be one of the OR assists (no idea, though).  But did you mean actually assist with the surgery itself, or be onhand in OR for support, advocacy, etc? 

#4 of 11 Old 02-05-2011, 05:12 AM