Homeopathics in Labor Prep and During Labor - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 03-06-2011, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)

I have never tried homeopathics before, but since I'm rather afraid of protracted and extremely painful labor that might end up in either chemical induction/labor augmentation or even c-section, I decided to try to give them a shot.  I was prescribed Arnica Montana 9ch to start taking now (I'm over 37 weeks) and Caulophyllum (Blue Cohosh) 9ch when the labor starts.  I was prescribed one more thing after the labor, but I can't remember the name and am too lazy to go look for it right now shy.gif ... 

I'm looking for an opinion of a professional or an experience of anyone that has taken these homeopathics before and during labor.  I'm still a little apprehensive as I'm afraid to put anything into my body that could potentially cause some havoc, I'm trying to disspell my fears.

I'm also considering starting to drink the Red Raspberry Leaf tea and I'm wondering if it would be ok to drink it while taking the Arnica sugar pills and later on the Caulophyllum.

I'm looking forward to all your replies and will be greatly grateful for any opinions/suggestions.

Thank you! love.gif

Proud mommy to our stellar Stella (3/2011). 
#2 of 6 Old 03-07-2011, 09:17 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

You can definitely drink red raspberry leaf tea while taking homeopathics.  You'd want to stay away from peppermint tea or essential oil while taking the homeopathics, though, because peppermint can negate the effects.

I'm confused as to why you were prescribed Arnica...?  It's definitely not going to hurt you (homeopathics do not work that way), but I've never heard of Arnica being prescribed as some kind of labor prep.  Caulophylum, sure, but not Arnica.  Did your midwife/holistic practitioner tell you why he or she wanted you to take Arnica?  I'm curious about this.