Mothering Forum banner

Homebirth midwife/birth certificates/Michigan

5K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  courtenay_e 
#1 ·
I had a midwife tell me that home birth midwives in Michigan are no longer allowed to take care of birth certificates, and that we will have to take our newborn to the federal building/Social Security office to fill it out ourselves. Where can I check the validity of this?

#2 ·
I'm a midwife in Michigan with a birth center and home birth practice. The state provides the pink birth certificate worksheet to all OOH midwives. If the midwifery practice has 2 or more midwives, or the practice has a facility such as a birth center, they can complete the buff colored (short form, official) birth certificate and after it's signed the midwife needs to take the buff and the pink to the clerk's office to register the birth. If those prerequisites don't apply then the parents and the midwife complete only the long pink form worksheet and take that to the local municipality clerk or the county clerk's office. Check with the county vital stats office about which one. I think only Wayne County (Detroit area) also uses the city offices for registering births.

You should check with the clerk's offices to find out if you need to bring the baby in when you register the birth, but for all the counties I've worked with, I haven't heard of this requirement.

You also may want to update the midwife you talked to so she has the correct info.

#3 ·