Student Midwives- What supplies are you buying? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 08-01-2011, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I was just wondering what supplies you all are buying or have bought and in what order?

When I was at the Midwifery Conference, I got a stethoscope and a fetoscope. I also have gloves (non-sterile) in my bag.

I'm just starting out as an apprentice/student.

What should I get next? When did you buy things?

Midwife (CPM, LDM) and homeschooling mama to:
13yo ds   10yo dd  8yo ds and 6yo ds and 1yo ds  
#2 of 7 Old 08-02-2011, 07:02 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Doppler asap. I know they are expensive. I got a Nicolette off of cragslist for $70 bucks early on. Manual BP cuff. Doula type stuff(which you already should have). I put off instruments and oxygen until the end because they are so expensive. A scale and sling and measuring tape are nice so you can run and do post partum visits.

Homeschooling, midwifery mom to 4 beautiful blessings(8,6,4,1)

#3 of 7 Old 08-02-2011, 02:03 PM

I have a stethoscope, fetoscope, gloves, bp cuff, mini Mag flash light and will be purchasing a sling and scale soon.  I'm looking for a deal on a Nicolet doppler.

Wife to Jesse, Mom to Ayden 12/01, Kailey 07/03, Ashlyn 6/05, Dylan 9/07, & Riley 12/09

#4 of 7 Old 08-03-2011, 12:03 AM - Thread Starter

Ok, I'm getting the sling scale and blood pressure cuff next.

#5 of 7 Old 08-03-2011, 08:18 AM