Looking for a home birth midwife in UT - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-03-2011, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello~

I'm looking for a home birth midwife in UT who would be willing to give me the low down on what it's like to practice there. I currently live in Ohio and am apprenticing/studying to become a CPM. My husband and I do not want to stay in Ohio where midwives practice in a legal gray area. My husband is from UT and we have been looking into moving back to the Salt Lake area when I have finished my training. I've been reading over the laws for DEMs in UT and they seem very favorable. But, I'm not a lawyer and it's hard to get a clear picture of what it's like to practice there from all of the legal-ease.

So I wanna know, what is it like for you to practice in UT.

Have you chosen to become licensed or have you chosen to be unlicensed?

Are there many restrictions on your practice as far as breech, VBAC, twins, pret-term or past-dates, etc?

What are the hospitals like there if you have to transfer- is it friendly or hostile?

What is the range of what home birth midwives are charging?

I REALLY appreciate any information you can give me!

TIA!

Bethany ~ Mama of two wonderful boys ♥ ♥  Wife to one amazing man ♥

Massage Therapist ~ Doula ~ Student Midwife

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-04-2011, 03:14 PM