Advice on preparing for AMCB certification exam - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 10-28-2011, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello! I graduated in June from a MS midwifery program and a rough pregnancy. All of my classmates have already taken the exam, and I am itching to do it before the baby comes. BUT I'm feeling terrified of taking it. Worried about how to prepare, and if I'll make it through at 36wks without a bathroom break. I know I wouldn't last 4 hours, but everyone has said they finished in 2hrs. SOoo if I'm lucky I'll make it. Waiting till after baby seems like setting myself up to potentially never take it and pass...

How helpful did you think the green study guide book was? I am also using the purple "Midwifery/Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review" book. Any words of advice or support would be much appreciated. Thanks! 

#2 of 3 Old 11-05-2011, 08:17 AM

Did you have to take a comprehensive exam at the end of your program?  The books you have are good and I found that most of my prep time went to studying for comps.  Once I'd passed those I felt prepared for the AMCB.  However, in my program you could only take comps once you were done with EVERYTHING, I know some programs you take them before integration so it may have been a while.  Whether you choose to take your exam before or after the baby comes just make sure you feel prepared - this is the cumulation of all you have worked for and it's ridiculously expensive, so worth it to go in feeling as prepared as possible!

Jessica, CNM placenta.gif+ DH geek.gif + sweet boy (4/06) jog.gif
#3 of 3 Old 12-23-2011, 07:43 PM