Needing advice for the future - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 12-09-2013, 01:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I feel like I should first introduce myself.  Hi all, I am a college freshman and I am utterly certain that being a midwife is my calling.  I'm not sure how to write this without sounding like some kid who is just fantasized with the idea; however, it is something I have done so much research into and I plan on doing more.  I just feel so drawn to the idea, like it was meant for me.  After I stumbled upon the career, I didn't think it would be for me.  In fact, I thought it would be impossible.  However, it was always something I went back to.  It was like a nagging "Sydney, this is what you were meant to do."  I was finding myself reading everything I could get my hands on.  And when I go back home after finals are over, I'm going to hit up the local library and read up everything they have too.  

Anyway, they point of this post is that I need direction for my future.  I feel as if I'm in this Y in the road.  I've read about both CNM's and CPM's.  They seem like two different approaches with the same result. I don't know which way is best for me and I would very much appreciate feedback from individuals.  Pros and Cons would be very helpful too!  

I would also would like to know how you got into the field, and how it worked/is working with starting a family.  As of now, I intend on majoring in Health Science, going into an Accelerated Nursing Program, and the working as a nurse for a while. After starting a family I would like to get my MSN.   Feedback on that as well would be great.  

I'm sorry if this post seems a little hectic.  I would just love some advice from people in the field.  Please just talk at me and give me your thoughts.  I've never had people in the profession give me advice, and I would strongly appreciate it.  

Thank you so much!

Sydney

#2 of 3 Old 12-10-2013, 06:31 PM