Becoming a Midwife - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 12-20-2013, 04:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

This is my first post here and I will admit I'm a bit nervous. 

I am currently an undergrad working on a BSN. The ultimate goal was a Master's in Midwifery. Then the other day, the idea occurred to me that I could just skip the whole CNM route and do a direct-entry route for a CPM. The reason being, I don't really want to work in a hospital.

Anyway, I have scoured NARM and googled as much as I can and I still have questions. Do I *have* to attend a Midwifery school/program or can I simply complete an entry-level PEP as an apprentice? 

This leads to more questions. If I can complete a PEP as an apprentice, how do I go about finding a preceptor willing to take on an entry-level student?

Many thanks!

Christina

#2 of 6 Old 12-28-2013, 01:53 PM

Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Anyone have any advice?
#3 of 6 Old 01-04-2014, 02:26 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

CNMs do not have to work in hospitals.

What type of education are are you looking for? How is your BSN program going?

No, you don't *have* to attend a school to become a CPM. Is that the type of education and training you are looking for? Does this type of education meet your standards? Do you believe you will be able to serve your patients well and comprehensively with the education and scope of practice of a CPM?

There's a lot more to this than working *in* or *not in* a hospital.

What is the appeal of "skipping the whole CNM route"?  There are quite a few CPMs who end up going back to school to become CNMs because they wanted a broader education and scope of practice.

Things to think about.

#4 of 6 Old 01-09-2014, 02:16 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)