• 1 Post By sewingmama
  • 1 Post By judyblueeyes
#1 of 3 Old 09-24-2015, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Home Birth in Elizabethtown, PA?

Hi all,

I'm new to the mothering forums (and forums in general), but I figured if there was anyone out there who could help me find a midwife, she'd be here.

I'm pregnant with my third child, due in April; I've had two previous home births, which I LOVED. We were planning to have another home birth with this one, but our midwife, Mary McLane is retiring in December...so we're at a loss.

Currently, I'm being pushed along at May-Grant - going for an intake appointment on Tuesday, but I'm already terrified of a hospital birth and tentative about prenatal care at such a large practice.

Does anyone know of any other home birth midwives in the area? Or can anyone suggest a practice that is super crunchy and supports natural birth (and opting out of most/all prenatal testing)?

Thank you!!

P.S. Birth Care is not an option for us because of the hour drive from Elizabethtown - my last labor lasted less than two hours from start to finish.
Sponsored Links
#2 of 3 Old 09-24-2015, 09:32 PM
I think Judi Mentzer in Orrstown is too far for you, and I think she took a break anyway, but I'm not sure. She's very good, though, and I'd recommend her wholeheartedly.

Barb Cavanaugh at Central PA Birth and Breastfeeding Services -- also maybe too far, but she is excellent, and I'd recommend her too.

Rowan Cerelli, Carlisle -- the little I know about her I like and would recommend.

Paula Hostler is in the York area and might be close enough for you. I haven't used her myself, but I know other people have liked her a lot.

You might call Birth Care and ask them if they can recommend anyone close enough to work with you.