Doula business start up in a new demographic? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 09-12-2013, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello all,

I moved to a new city a few months ago and have considered starting a doula business here. I was trained by the Simkin School in 2007 and went to midwifery school in 2010. I am not certified, because I chose to direct my energy toward midwifery instead. I've worked as a midwifery apprentice and attended only homebirths so far. In my new city, hospital births are the majority and although I feel people are beginning to embrace doulas, they are still not super common. I have a lot of knowledge and experience, but I'm not sure how easy it will be for me to "break in" to the community here. I'm currently working a job that is not rewarding and I dread going there every day. I do not have a flexible schedule and so it would not work for me to continue to work there and begin doula work. I need to make at least $1300/month to meet my needs and I'm hoping that is possible here. Does anyone have any advice for transitioning from a normal day job to doula work without going hungry in between?

#2 of 3 Old 09-15-2013, 03:05 PM

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)

It looks like your post might have been missed, so I wanted to bump it up for attention. :bump: Anyone have suggestions to share?

hh2.gif Head over to the Holiday Helper forum and be a part of this wonderful Mothering tradition! joy.gif

Wondering about Mothering in general? Check out Mothering's User Agreement! smile.gif

#3 of 3 Old 09-19-2013, 04:43 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Is there any way you can save up a few months worth of funds to carry you through while you build up a client base?