what are you reading? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 06-05-2011, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hey fellow Feb-12-ers,

I'm wondering what resources you are reading? Websites/books etc. This is going to be our first and I'm feeling a little overwhelmed with what I don't know or understand yet. I have the mayo clinic book and the babycenter app on my phone, but that's it for the time being (oh, and this website too obviously!)

Also, any other first-timers out there? I see we have many people who are already moms- which is great, providing guidance to us total newbies!!

Daurelia

Happily married for 5 years. Tried for our first baby 6/2011, got preg right away, and miscarried. Took a 4 month break, and then had nothing but infertility & a few early miscarriages until 12/2012 when we learned I had a lumpy edge in my uterus. Doc removed it and now we are trying again....

#2 of 19 Old 06-05-2011, 05:41 PM

I'm a doula and childbirth educator in training, so I'll pick back up the books I need to read for certification. I stopped reading them when I miscarried in December. Here are the books I recommend, and an app I really like.

Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Newborn

Birthing From Within

Ina May's Guide to Childbirth

"         " Guide to Breastfeeding

iPregnancy App on iPhone

DD Seraphina born at home on 2/21/2012! 

"Childbirth is more admirable than conquest, more amazing than self-defense, and as courageous as either one."
#3 of 19 Old 06-05-2011, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter

thank you! these look great.

Happily married for 5 years. Tried for our first baby 6/2011, got preg right away, and miscarried. Took a 4 month break, and then had nothing but infertility & a few early miscarriages until 12/2012 when we learned I had a lumpy edge in my uterus. Doc removed it and now we are trying again....

#4 of 19 Old 06-05-2011, 09:34 PM