Mothering Forum banner

Any working outside of the house mamas?

836 views 19 replies 12 participants last post by  JHopesMomma 
#1 ·
Hi all, I was just wondering who is also working outside of the house? I am wondering how on earth I will cope with a toddler and a newborn whilst also workin. DH works almost full-time and is also a student. he'll be beginning a very intensive internship experience in January. We're from overseas so have no family support...

I am a professor and chair of an academic department and will likely get most of the spring semester off and will also have the summer. I am in a very fortunate position in that regard, but, eek, it's going to be one busy time. We're also building a house at the moment
lol.gif

See less See more
#2 ·
Yep, right here. My DS is almost 5, so maybe the age spread will mean I have a helper around the house?
lol.gif
With him I was able to take 6 months off, but I'm doubtful that will happen again. I am hoping to roll from maternity leave to part time and then gradually back to full time, but I'll have to see what will fly.

We're going to be doing a big real estate shuffle too. Good times!

#3 ·
I am. We have 4 at home, Dad is a SAHD which he started in Jan. I took over the income so DH didn't have to travel 10m of the year. This is mega-surprise baby. We're trying to wrap our brains around it still. I have NO idea how to be a WOHM with a newborn!!! I'm very worried. I possibly can take 2-3m at home but I'm unsure still. Oy vey.
wink1.gif

#4 ·