Food no-nos - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 44 Old 10-01-2011, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Okay, does anyone else think the ever growing list of foods to avoid for pregnant women is getting a little out of control. No deli meat, no soft cheese (including cottage cheese according to a resource I found), no soft serve ice cream, only small amounts of fish, careful on veggies (they may be processed incorrectly), low fat, low carbs...I mean really we're going to starve if we follow all the rules out there. Is it just me, or is this a little over the top? Anyone else follow all these?

Brande: Mama of 5 and perpetual student.

#2 of 44 Old 10-01-2011, 09:28 AM

totally over the top!  This is my first time so I totally accept the fact that I know nothing, but to me it's wayyy too much.  As far as I'm concerned, it's akin to the germ-phobia that seems to be becoming so dominant in North America which, for me, seems counter-intutive after a point.  I don't follow them at all.  I try to avoid eating too much deli meat but more due to the way it's processed.  Soft rind cheeses aren't appealing to me right now but if they were i would eat them and DON"T EVEN TRY to keep me away from soft serve ice cream!  I haven't had it yet but was craving it yesterday and am planning on indulging today.

happily married to my rock and roll cowboy guitar.gif since 2009, living the dream with our Rosebud, 26/04/12 joy.gif

#3 of 44 Old 10-01-2011, 12:56 PM

Aside from coffee and some crap food I wouldn't eat any time (the really bad stuff like colored candy preservative loaded stuff and soda and spam...) I eat anything that feels right. I have a hard time buying into all the food hype. I think If your body is craving it (within reason no beer..) its probably fine. And everything in moderation. And if its ok in another country why is it not ok in the USA? 

I eat sushi, as do millions of japanese with no problem.