Flu Shot + Formula Marketing at the O.B. office - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 34 Old 10-19-2011, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have found the perfect midwife. I am a nurse and work with her frequently and know the type of deliveries that she does. However the nurses in the office are  hassling me about receiving a flu shot and then gave me some promotion for a shopping spree sponsored by Enfamil. When I politley declined I was given quite an eye roll. Have you all received this type of formula marketing too?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 34 Old 10-19-2011, 05:28 PM

The flu shot wouldn't bother me, I'll be getting mine next week.  However, the formula would bug me.  Not enough to leave if the midwife is awesome though.

Mama of three.

#3 of 34 Old 10-20-2011, 03:55 AM

The formula marketing would definitely bother me, but I'm sure that it's out of her control.  It's probably the clinic manager and OBs that she works with that does that.

I also plan to get my flu shot-- I am also a nurse and work in public health, so I know the value of vaccines and see the results when people don't get them.  It does make me a little sad when I hear of nurses refusing flu shots or other health related things (like not breastfeeding, smoking, being over weight, etc).  I always feel that as nurses, we should be excellent role models for health.

greenmulberry likes this.

Me = Healer, yogini, lactivist, step-mom, and wife to my dream come true joy.gif So grateful-- baby #1 April 2012

#4 of 34 Old 10-20-2011, 05:12 AM

I would have given her an eyeroll right back. Definately no Flu shot for me. My OB discussed it with me and made it sound like I was practically ending my baby's life by declining. We don't get the shot in this house.

Married to DH 7 years and have three fantastic kiddos! DS 6, DD 4, and DS 2 ...... lo and behold another is on the way!

#5 of 34 Old 10-20-2011, 05:23 AM