Intact Penis Question - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 12-09-2012, 06:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello all!!!!  I have an almost 2 year old little boy who is beautifully intact joy.gif.   l have 2 other sons who were circ'd before I knew any better.  My question though is that my little one's foreskin does not retract at all.  Now...I was not at all concerned about it as I have always been told to leave it alone.  However....I work as an ER nurse and we have a little one who came in with an infection in his penis and everyone was saying it was because he was intact and his parents must not be caring for him.  I mentioned my son is not circ'd and after everyone gasped and asked why....I asked what they meant as far as not "caring for his penis".  They said that the parents probably don"t clean under the foreskin.  I said back that I NEVER retract Drew's foreskin and for that matter it does not retract at all.  They were all mortified and said I should be pulling it back and cleaning it daily.  Now....I have not...and he has never had an infection....but should I be concerned that it does not retract at all????

Alicia

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 12-09-2012, 08:16 PM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)

No. Some other members with access to info links will probably post shortly, but the average age of retraction can vary from toddler-aged to well into puberty.

Daily retract and clean...ack. That is so 1960s. Do some health care providers still recommend that? Wow.

Don't worry. What you are doing is correct. "Clean only what is seen." That's it.

Mother to DD#1  s/b @40w 2003 for unknown reasons; DD#2   nearly 10 years old; DS  6.5 years old 
  Why are daughters protected but not sons?

#3 of 8 Old 12-10-2012, 08:50 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)

Hello, Alicia.  Welcome.gif