3Likes
  • 3 Post By MeepyCat

#1 of 6 Old 08-19-2014, 07:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Unhappy Sex abuse Awareness

So. . .
About a year ago, my toddler had a strange rash on the top area of his bum. It was very isolated with no satellite spotting and it was right at the top of his butt crack. I thought it was very unusual and the typical over the counter cream wasn't helping. So I decided to bring him into the doctors for something stronger.

When I got there, the woman I saw wasn't my normal person and she immediately took this approach that it could be a sign of sexual abuse. My original intention was to find out what it was and how to make it better but instead I got these suspicious sounding questions like, "Well what do you think it is?" and "How often are you leaving him with people you don't trust?"

I was appalled by this approach only because I work in the mental health field where there have been extreme cases of sexual abuse and we never accused parents outright before gathering information. When I asked her what she thought it could be, she shrugged her shoulders and said "I don't know but at this point I wouldn't trust anyone around him." She asked me who watched him, which typically are my in-laws when my husband and I are at work but I completely trust them and believe that they are healthy people. I explained this to her and she shook her head in that way that she wasn't really listening and had made up her mind saying, "Well I wouldn't trust them either."