Potty training and international travel - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 02-13-2013, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

Hello mothering folk, here's my situation DS is nearly 3 (his birthday is next week), and he has used cloth diapers and cloth training pants from the beginning.  Even a couple of summers ago when we travelled to DC for 5 weeks and to Prague for 10 days, I hauled a bunch of cloth diapers and a wet bag along and spent far too much of my time in Prague tracking down laundrymats.  That was the one time that I regretted cloth diapers and thought that if I were to do it again I would just use disposables for that time. 

Well, here we go again.  We will be travelling to the Caribbean for a month on a research trip (I'm a professor on sabbatical).  DS is in the process of potty training, but there are still a lot of accidents.  I don't know that there will be laundrymats available, and I don't want to spend my precious research time doing laundry, so I'm considering doing disposable training pants, but have several questions.  1.  are there any brands that are less environmentally harmful and safer for my son?  2.  Any estimates of how many I might need?  I usually have him go potty in the morning, then get him into training pants and take him to preschool.  He often comes home with a wet bag filled with one or two wet training pants (though sometimes not), and some times that's it but then some times there are one or two more accidents before bed. Wow, now that I write that down it doesn't sound so good, but really I think he's doing pretty well. 

anyway, my other concern is that I still put him in a diaper at night, but I'm not sure how to do that on our trip.  I suppose I'll bring some cloth diapers and some cloth training pants and a bunch of disposable training pants and wet bags galore, and somehow make it work. 

Any advice?

#2 of 4 Old 02-17-2013, 07:38 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)