Helping a 28 month old learn to use the potty - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 03-26-2014, 11:23 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello everyone,

i just started teaching my 28 month old how to use the potty (I feel as if I am a little late).  I am a first time mom and so I am completely new at this.  I would like some tips and pointers on how to get started.  I've started reading an e-book called  "Oh Crap, Potty Training" by Jamie Glowacki.  Does anyone recommend any other books or ebooks?  Any other advice on how to get started is welcome. :-)

Thanks!

#2 of 4 Old 03-28-2014, 05:06 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I never read any books. I did random internet searches during the struggles (from my standpoint). Potty "learning" is difficult and my least favorite childhood "milestone". It won't work unless your child is ready. They will show the signs. My DD who is 6 learned at 34 months. My DS who is almost 4 just learned back in September/October. He was more difficult, as boys do things later than girls. He was 50% there for a while and I just couldn't get him to do #2. Then, one day, he did... on his own terms. My advice is don't push it. Introduce the concept slowly and make it fun. You'll be able to tell if your child is interested or not. Also, I personally don't consider 28 months late.

Newly married 10/2013 to DH superhero.gifSAHM to DD 2007  dust.gif and DS 2010  bouncy.gif  homeschool.gifselectivevax.gifdelayedvax.gifnocirc.gifhamster.jpg
#3 of 4 Old 03-28-2014, 12:49 PM

Potty trained my son starting at 2. It takes a few months of accidents, going to the potty many many times, bringing changes of clothes everywhere and a lot of poop clean up. The no bottoms really worked for us and I did not revert back to diapers if it was going to be inconvient. He is now 2.4 and tells me when and will go by himself. He still can't pull his bottoms down.
#4 of 4 Old 03-28-2014, 01:12 PM