Low platelets, might not get my homebirth - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 6Likes

Old 06-25-2014, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Low platelets, might not get my homebirth

I'm struggling with my low platelets. If they go below the threshold of 100, my midwives suggest I have a hospital birth. I fear my heart will break if I have to give birth in hospital.
My DS was born in hospital and it was so long, mostly because I couldn't relax and there were too many restrictions.
This time is much more different. I'm a student midwife. I have worked in the hospital that I'd give birth in. I know and like (most) of the staff, and really unless there was a reason to consult an OB I wouldn't even see the staff, it would be my midwives. I'm in my home country.

But I really wanted a lovely homebirth.
Just sad here.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-26-2014, 04:42 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Good luck to you, hopefully they come back up and you will have your home birth!
It can be very hard to deal with something different than what we're planning for though, I am sure it will all be okay no matter what, but I hope you get what you're wishing for.
Old 06-26-2014, 05:55 PM

Quoted: 21 Post(s)

I am a homebirther at heart but having my second planned hospital birth with this baby, primarily for financial reasons. (#1, 4, and 5 were at home and #2 and 3 were unplanned hospital births. #6 was my first planned hospital birth.) My last birth went pretty well, despite having to have pit, but I am a little nervous about this one anyway.
Old 07-08-2014, 05:29 PM

I have platelets measuring on the lower end as well. As long as you mentally prepare yourself for possibly having to go in a hospital even though you'd prefer to have baby at home, you'll be fine. especially since you sound like you're very much in your home territory.