95% sure that I shouldn't worry... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 07-30-2014, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
95% sure that I shouldn't worry...

This afternoon I had a fairly bad, fairly painful cramp on the left side of my belly... Which hasn't gone away entirely.

Now, I'm a total noob about contractions I kind of thought this was maybe Braxton-hicks? They's no rhythm, just a generally mild cramp (unless I do something that puts stress on the muscle- or if kidlett kicks it!). Can BH be painful?

Also, what do contractions feel like? I had one "uterus tightening" moment (which went on for 20 mins) after an orgasm... and decided that was no fun! Little girl didn't seem to care for it either.

I keep thinking that it's fine, I'll just ask the midwives about it next Tuesday, but then I get nervous...

I'm having SPD problems on that side as well, but that actually seemed better today.
#2 of 5 Old 07-30-2014, 08:13 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
could be what I believe is referred to as round ligament pain....which is a normal part of pregnancy as your body stretches out to carry baby
Yes, bh can hurt....I haven't had a lot of bh with any of my pgs so, I cant say much about them....but they are definitely noticeable and you can tell it is a tightening of the muscles around the uterus. I had some the other day and they were at the very top of my belly.....it wasn't really painful, but I could definitely tell it. With a different pg, I did have slightly more painful bh.....but I have never had bh be as bad as normal contrax......but I cant say for sure they couldn't be....again I haven't had a lot of them to compare them to =)
With all of my pgs I have gotten the pain in the side/lower ab that is quite painful and to my knowledge that is what I was referring to as round ligament pain.

I agree, I don't think you have anything to worry about =)
#3 of 5 Old 07-30-2014, 10:23 PM