Hypnobirthing - Mothering Forums
February 2015 Due Date Club > Hypnobirthing
alivewithyou's Avatar alivewithyou 11:29 AM 09-02-2014
Alright so I plan on a hospital birth but if I can avoid an epidural I would like to. Who has experience with hypnobirthing?

What books/CDs would you recommend?

Any tips/warnings?

I know that pain is very much a mental game so I feel like this would be perfect for me.

murrelet's Avatar murrelet 12:38 PM 09-02-2014
I have no experience with hypnobirthing, but I can't recommend Birthing from Within highly enough! Seriously! I had 2 very intense labours, both with lots of back pain, both delivered at home, and I found the techniques in BFW to be very, very helpful. I also like that they encourage you to do whatever it takes for you to get through contractions, be it cursing, moaning, rocking, dancing, hypnosis, whatever! And that it's okay to change tactics mid-labour. The overall take home message is that we can't plan labour and birth, but that we can prepare for all possibilities. Labour is hard work, usually it hurts, and you can do it. If you can find BFW prenatal classes nearby they are well worth it.

Also, I can't stress enough the benefits of a doula if you can afford one. Not just for the labouring mom, but for the partner as well. There's this expectation that partners will handle their loved ones in pain with poise and clear-thinking, but that's not always the case. It's good to have someone there with experience supporting natural labour, and not least to let the partner have a break to eat and pee!
forestlover75's Avatar forestlover75 05:27 AM 09-03-2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by murrelet View Post
I have no experience with hypnobirthing, but I can't recommend Birthing from Within highly enough! Seriously!