Calling all experienced home-birth mamas! I have many questions... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 31Likes

#1 of 46 Old 07-17-2014, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Question Calling all experienced home-birth mamas! I have many questions...

So I have realized by now that I am lucky enough to have found a thread full of experienced homebirthing mamas, and I need to take advantage of that by asking you guys a few questions. This is my very first time and I honestly have NO IDEA what to expect. Today I went on youtube to watch unassisted home births in order to get somewhat of an idea, but it also opened up so many MORE questions haha... I'm hoping the mothers who have done this before will be kind and help me out here.

I am still in disbelief that I will be giving birth in December. I'm sure it will feel more and more real once we get closer to our due dates, but right now I still feel like it's just a dream I'm living in.. just not quite real, since I don't even know what birth is like at all.

Okay, so, my questions:

- How did you give birth? Water birth (that's what I'm planning), or out of the water? If you did a water birth, what temperature was the water to be comfortable? I know there are heated tubs but I don't know if that's necessary.

- What position(s) did you find most comfortable during the different points in labor and birth?

- Is it painful the entire labor, or is it mostly painful when the head is coming out (that's how it seemed in the videos)? Any tips for easing pain?

- Did you practice meditating beforehand? Did it help? What type of meditations did you do? What other ways can I help myself relax and find my "center" during labor?

- When do they cut the umbilical cord? I know there is a certain amount of time they leave it intact, but I'm curious about how long that is? Do they tie it off first? I have a midwife but I am still curious about this.