Anterior vs. Posterior Uterus (cervix position) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 12-29-2008, 01:22 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello there! My husband and I are TTC and I am learning to learn how to read and record cervical position changes. Bare with me while I try and explain where my cervix currently is so you can tell me what it's called. (Hopefully!)

I think what I felt is my cervix, but as I am new at this, you might have to correct me. I couldn't really feel a complete circle, but more like a semi circle, is that possible? I couldn't really feel an opening in the middle, but I am on cd 13, so that means it would be closed anyways right? I did feel a small hard bump on it, so I am going for a pap smear/physical some time soon. Anyways, it was located on the "back wall" meaning closest to my spine, not my tummy, and facing my tummy. Is this anterior? I was once told I had a tipped uterus, but I do not know the difference between anterior and posterior.

Thanks for your help! Any cervical position tips would be greatly appreciated!
#2 of 4 Old 12-29-2008, 02:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BornInSeptember View Post
Anyways, it was located on the "back wall" meaning closest to my spine, not my tummy, and facing my tummy. Is this anterior? I was once told I had a tipped uterus, but I do not know the difference between anterior and posterior.
It sounds like you found your cervix- it moves all around, so depending on time of day and CD, it could shift. I only record High/low, soft/firm, and open/closed for fertility purposes...never anterior/posterior so I can't help you there. but it's interesting to learn about nonetheless!

Momma to DD (12/04) hearts.gif and DS (11/09) hbac.gif.
I survived 16 mos! Ask me about breastfeeding a baby with posterior tongue tie, high palate, and weak oral motor skills- whew!

#3 of 4 Old 12-29-2008, 02:57 AM - Thread Starter