ear thermometer for temping/charting? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 12-26-2003, 03:19 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
As in, can I use our ear thermometer, or does it have to be a BBT thermometer? The ear one takes a second to use, and it would be so easy to have dh just stick it in my ear in the morning when he gets up and record the temperature.

What with ds starting his marathon nursing while sleeping session early in the morning, for two hours while I lay there half-asleep, I'm concerned that I would never be able to take my temperature a) at the same time every morning or b) right when I first wake up and haven't moved yet.

Any thoughts or experience welcome! I'm new to charting (still haven't finished reading TCOYF ) and I don't have a routine yet.

Come visit the NEW QuirkyBaby website -- earn QB Bucks rewards points for purchases, reviews, referrals, and more! Free US shipping on great brands of baby slings and carriers and FREE BabyLegs or babywearing mirror on orders of $100+. Take the QB Quiz for personalized advice!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-26-2003, 03:42 AM
Administrator

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
The general consensus is that they are not accurate enough to actually give you a good idea of a pattern.

winner.jpg Adina knit.gifmama to B hearts.gif 4/06  and E baby.gif  8/13/12 (on her due date!) homebirth.jpg waterbirth.jpg

Old 12-26-2003, 05:51 AM

I have a Vicks digital thermometer I got from the local Fred Meyer's that takes a temp in 10-15 seconds and has a lighted display and a memory. I'm not really sure if it's a basal thermometer, but it has been working very consistently for me and has given me quite accurate temping info. It cost about $10.

Quote:
I'm concerned that I would never be able to take my temperature a) at the same time every morning or b) right when I first wake up and haven't moved yet.