How does having a cold affect BBT? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-05-2010, 06:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I had a cold all last week, and my temps were erratic--not higher than usual as one might expect, they were lower than usual. I didn't have a fever with this cold, and it didn't really affect my sleeping habits. (Although I'm guessing I might have slept with my mouth open due to a stuffed nose.) I had the cold during the EXACT time I was supposed to ovulate of course, so I'm wondering if my cold might have affected the BBT. There are a few other factors--this is my first normal cycle after a miscarriage at 12 weeks. Additionally, this is my first time temping since October and I'm wondering how the winter weather may be affecting my temps.

I didn't get the EWCM either this month, so I'm hoping I didn't have an anovulatory cycle (which is possible I guess after a miscarriage).

Any feedback about the colds would be helpful! Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-05-2010, 10:47 PM

i have a feeling that anything that affects your immune system is going to affect your BBT and your sleep patterns, even if the effect is mild and unpredictable.

i would suggest that wait it out a few days and see how your temps smooth out one the other side of the cold. if they are still erratic or low, maybe you havent o'd if they smooth out high near other months post o temp you might not know exactly what day you o'd but you will have a pretty good idea that you did.

hope that helps things a tad.

feel better soon.

partners.gif 2twins.gif  So what if I don't fit cleanly into a defined parenting style, my kids don't fit into a personality archetype either!

Old 02-10-2010, 06:46 PM

Dear Malayamommy