How does holding your pee make it more concentrated? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 10-11-2010, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I see this all the time and it makes no sense to me... Wouldn't your bladder just be fuller? I don't see how the urine would be more concentrated, wouldn't that be accomplished by drinking less fluids?

I'm no biology expert but I thought that once the urine is in your bladder it stays there?

I know FMU is more concentrated but I think that is because your kidneys work more slowly when you are sleeping and because you haven't had anything to drink for 8 hours.

Finally pregnant with #1 and #2! Due September 9th, 2014 

#2 of 8 Old 10-12-2010, 01:32 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Well, they're involving 2 different body systems entirely, but I know that the longer you hold in a bm, the more water gets reabsorbed into your body, making it harder/dryer. So maybe it's a similar situation in the bladder? Osmosis causing water in areas with a higher concentration of it to move across a membrane to an area with a lower water concentration? Then it leaves behind a higher concentration of whatever couldn't cross the membrane... hormones, toxins, waste, etc. I'd guess it wouldn't work so well if you're super well-hydrated though.

But these are my spontaneously generated theories, fwiw.
#3 of 8 Old 10-12-2010, 01:45 AM

I'm not entirely sure that holding it in DOES make pee more concentrated, but if it does, I can come up with a mechanism. It's not the resorption thing - that's true for bowels, but the bladder is impermeable.