working a physical job while pregnant? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 06-15-2012, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My husband and I are thinking of starting a family next year.   We both work full time; he is in the restaurant industry and I work as a landscape foreman (forewoman!)  at a family-owned landscape design company, March thru early December.  Its basically a husband and wife team, plus me and one or two college guys we hire for the season.  I am 27 and have been there 5 years. 

My employers are amazing and treat me like family...I know they would be willing to work with me on maternity leave, flexible time off, etc, they are very progressive employers.  I'm sure they would be willing to hire more help while I was pregnant, and I could probably even take a year or more off and come back to the company.  I am curious if anyone has experience working a physical job while pregnant.  I have always worked outdoors doing fairly hard work, since high school.  But I have no idea what to expect for a first pregnancy.

I have been playing around with the timing...I would like to work as much as possible thru the pregnancy but do not know what is realistic.  Since it is such a small company everyone counts--and since they are in their early 60's---I would hate to have to totally jump ship just a few years before they retire, and make them train someone totally new. But-- will I be puking sick and exhausted for the first trimester, or feel totally awesome up until the third trimester?  I have no idea.

Has anyone else worked a similar, physically-demanding job through part of their pregnancy?  Any insight would be appreciated!

#2 of 6 Old 06-15-2012, 09:09 PM