So Many Questions - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 10-22-2012, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have two boys and would like to try for a girl, my husband and I will need to use a sperm bank this time since he is no longer able to have kids.  I have never done this this before and i have to say we are both nervous how will we know what to do and how to do it... any help would be greatly appreciated. 

#2 of 6 Old 10-22-2012, 02:06 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)

Well, I guess first you need to pick a bank.  Then you get your doctor to sign off, pick a donor and track your cycle.  There are many wonderful banks out there and they all offer slightly different features.  You can look through their donors and what they offer on their websites.  The ones I am familiar with are The Sperm Bank of California (We used them.), Xytex, Fairfax, Northwest, California Cryobank.  To get a long profile and photo, you usually need to purchase those from the bank.  Xytex has a flat fee that lets you access all profiles and photos online for a set amount of time.  They also have adult photos.  Some banks will do photo matching for you. If you give them a photo of your husband, they will find a donor who looks most like him.  If you live near a bank, you can pick up the vials, otherwise they will have to be shipped to you.  You have to register with the bank to become a recipient.  Most banks require a doctor or medical professional to sign a form saying you are ok to receive the sperm.  When you pick a donor and are ready to start, you call them to place your order for the month and have it shipped or readied for pick up.  It is very important to track your cycle closely so that you can pinpoint your time of ovulation as closely as possible because frozen sperm does not survive in your body as long as fresh does.  Many people do 2 inseminations about 12 hours apart to cover all their bases.  Good Luck!