Runner midwife TTC #4 naturally at 40 - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 28 Old 11-23-2012, 06:26 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Hi!

I haven't posted on Mothering for a very long time.  As you can see, I have been around Mothering for many years, and I am excited to be back.

DP and I decided recently to start TTC #4.  We have three kids: B14, G12, B5.  We would be thrilled with another daughter so my daughter can have a sister.  Another brother would fit right in, too!

I am a midwife in Ontario and so see lots of women who are 40+ who are pregnant.  It helps to normalize the statistics that tell me it will be challenging for me to attain and maintain a healthy pregnancy.  

I had an appointment with an OB friend who took my Mirena out and did some blood work.  Everything was really great, except my FSH (taken on an unknown day in my cycle due to the Mirena) was 11.6, so a little high unless I was mid-cycle.  She said that she was happy it was under 12.  I also did a hemoglobin A1C as my dad is diabetic and it came back at 0.060, which is the high range of normal.  I have been working hard at fitness level lately:  good thing!

Just prior to turning 40 I decided I was *done* with feeling tired and sluggish and overweight.  I decided to start running at 270 pounds and am thrilled to report my weight is sitting at about 206-208, which gives me a BMI of 29-30.  In October I ran my first half-marathon (my 13th race of any kind, ever) and in November I ran my second (3 weeks ago).  I'm not a natural runner but I am really enjoying pushing myself and testing my limits.

In January I am planning on running the Goofy in Disney.  That's a half marathon on the Saturday followed by a full marathon on the Sunday.  I am scared witless.  In preparation I am training and running about 35-50k a week.  I use a walk-run strategy mostly, but I can run continuously for about 5k.  My body prefers the walk-run ratios.