Mothering Forums

Mothering Forums (http://www.mothering.com/forum/)
-   Trying To Conceive (http://www.mothering.com/forum/178-trying-conceive/)
-   -   Do you test early and often, or do you wait for a missed period? (http://www.mothering.com/forum/178-trying-conceive/1386062-do-you-test-early-often-do-you-wait-missed-period.html)

*MamaJen* 07-03-2013 07:54 AM

Just curious when y'all start looking out for a BFP? We just started trying this month for baby #2 (my second, his first). Baby #1 was a happy oops, so I've never done this on purpose before. Tomorrow will be 7 days post ovulation, so I could conceivably start testing this weekend. But I know that the miscarriage rate is pretty big in those first few days, and up until the recent days of affordable and accurate early tests, most women wouldn't even have known they were pregnant. If I have a super early miscarriage, I think I probably wouldn't want to know about it. I'm trying to make myself wait to test until my period is at least a day late, but it's hard!

TheCrunchyBrit 07-03-2013 07:59 AM

Here's my experience:  I test early and often and thank God I do!  If it wasn't for my frequent testing I would have had no idea about my 5 early losses in a row and would have never have had my surgery to correct the problem.  If I wasn't a POAS addict then I would probably have thought I just couldn't get pregnant and wasted loads of money on unnecessary rounds of IVF.  So I really do think its a very good thing to know about any early losses.

*MamaJen* 07-03-2013 08:01 AM

That's a really good point. Glad you had your baby boy!

newgirlintown 07-03-2013 08:31 AM