Do you test early and often, or do you wait for a missed period? - Mothering Forums

View Poll Results: When do you start looking for a BFP?
Early and often 7 53.85%
At least a day or so before my period is due 2 15.38%
Not until my period is late 4 30.77%
Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 07-03-2013, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Just curious when y'all start looking out for a BFP? We just started trying this month for baby #2 (my second, his first). Baby #1 was a happy oops, so I've never done this on purpose before. Tomorrow will be 7 days post ovulation, so I could conceivably start testing this weekend. But I know that the miscarriage rate is pretty big in those first few days, and up until the recent days of affordable and accurate early tests, most women wouldn't even have known they were pregnant. If I have a super early miscarriage, I think I probably wouldn't want to know about it. I'm trying to make myself wait to test until my period is at least a day late, but it's hard!

Jen, journalist, policy wonk, and formerly a proud single mama to my sweet little man Cyrus, born at home Dec. 2007 . Now married to my Incredibly Nice Guy and new mama to baby Arthur.
#2 of 7 Old 07-03-2013, 07:59 AM

Here's my experience:  I test early and often and thank God I do!  If it wasn't for my frequent testing I would have had no idea about my 5 early losses in a row and would have never have had my surgery to correct the problem.  If I wasn't a POAS addict then I would probably have thought I just couldn't get pregnant and wasted loads of money on unnecessary rounds of IVF.  So I really do think its a very good thing to know about any early losses.

Married to Mr. Crunchy June 2008 ~ welcomed our beautiful boy August 2012 ~ baby number 2 due 2nd September 2014 ~ babywearing, co-sleeping, cloth bumming. I love my unvaxxed boy
#3 of 7 Old 07-03-2013, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter