What other factors... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 02-21-2003, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
What other factors aside from timing and ovulation, contribute to not getting pregnant in any given month? Would it be lack of "good" CM? I'm very interested in finding this out.

Let's assume that everything is a-okay as far as CM and O go. I have a 28-29 day cycle typically. I am trying to coordinate with my traveling DH the best days to be home (he travels about 50%) and since I am new to charting and not sure exactly what is going on with my cycle in terms of O time, CM, temps, etc.

Last month, during mid-cycle, we BDed CD 11 -- hiatus due to stomach flu & travel -- and then again 16, 17, 19 and nothing happened, that's why I was not surprised when AF arrived. This month DH has to be out of town CD 11-13... UGH! We will BD the morning of the 11th and he will try and catch the red-eye back on the 13th so we can get in that night as well.

Do you think we will fare okay? Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 10 Old 02-21-2003, 12:18 PM

I think you are baby dancing too soon. My cycles are usually 28-29 days and I tend to ovulate on day 14-16. It sounds like you are missing your ovulation time.

I would suggest charting, because it's the only way to get a good idea of when you ovulate, unless you always have a sharp pain when the egg leaves the ovary. Charting can tell you which 1-3 days you probably ovulated.

The other concern I have, is that you are having annovulatory cycles, where no egg is released and your period is actually annovulatory bleeding. The only way to know for sure if this is happening to you is by charting.