whoa! is this mittelschmerz? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 06-06-2003, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i don't believe i have ever noticed ovulation pain before, maybe i never had it, maybe i just didn't know, but today i got a sharp pain on my left side, but it's too low to be a stomach pain, even though that's what i suspected initially. so of course i overindulged at dinner trying to make the pain stop.
but it's still going. about 5-6 hours now.

i figured you ladies would be able to tell me more about ovulation pain, how long it lasts, etc.

so fill me in! i'm new to this. when will it stop? and why am i ovulating now, when i get a visit from my husband??? we are NOT TTC! too bad i can't give my egg to someone who wants it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 06-07-2003, 08:03 AM

If you have never noticed ovulation pain before, and since it's on the left side, I would suspect it's intestinal in nature. Gas, maybe?
But it could always be a cyst, or even something totally unrelated to either ovulation or your intestines.
If the pain doesn't go away, ask your doctor about it.

For women who do feel ovulation pain, it's different for each one of us.
For me, since mine is endo-related, I get an inflamed sort of pain from time of O until AF arrives, and then a whole different kind of cramping pain starts. When it's a cyst, I can feel a hard lump right where the pain is coming from, and the pain is very localized, sharp and stabbing, like a very thin red hot poker stuck through me. When it's intestinal, well, you'll know it...
#3 of 5 Old 06-07-2003, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter