Vitex: pill, tea, drops? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 02-25-2008, 09:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I want to start TTC soon, but I don't have my cycles back. I'm trying to get my cycles back with vitex (I'm 2 years pp). I've been drinking vitex tea 2-3 times a day for two months now. Other than making me extremely irritable for the first few weeks, and perhaps have a bit more cervical fluid, nothing is happening. So I'm wondering if it would be more effective for me to take vitex in a different form. Any vitex experts out there?

Casey
Mama to DS 2/22/06 and DS 3/27/09 :
#2 of 7 Old 02-25-2008, 09:53 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
The most absorbed form of vitex is the tinctures. It should be taken right upon waking in the am because that is when those hormones are most active. My herbalist had me on 3mls a day. I induced AF back with vitex when DD1 was 2.5y old, then later upped my dose to be able to get pg. Good luck!

ETA: vitex is a slow acting herb, it is not uncommon for it to take 2-3 months to notice anything. It took me between 2-3m using the tincture to induce AF back.

There is no way to happiness, happiness is the way.
#3 of 7 Old 02-25-2008, 10:57 PM

I agree that the tincture is the way to go. I use it lengthen a very short LP and just to help balance progesterone and estrogen. I take it first thing in the morning with a little bitsy of water and I saw results the first cycle I took it. This is my 3rd cycle on it and I'm still seeing positive effects. I could tell immediately htat it was doing something for me because my mood swings chilled out within a week of taking it. But I agree with pp that it can months to show it's full effect.

Good luck to you!
#4 of 7 Old 02-25-2008, 11:12 PM

I'm not an expert, but I would recommend the pills. The doseage can be better regulated and you don't have to taste it!

I also find the pills to be less expensive.