Acidity - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 08-09-2008, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, ladies -

I am new to this section of the board - and honestly, not expecting any difficulty concieving. But I want to "try" for a girl for the first cycle - after that I'll go with anything goes . . .

So I've done my research and of the many possible "try for a girl" techniques, I am willing and able to a) make my mucous more acidic and b) maybe get DH to take some hot baths! I've got Alkalive pH Test Strips 4.5 - 9.0.

My saliva tests in the 6.5 ish range. My vaginal mucous, however, could not possibly be a higher number than 4.5, and that's even a little iffy. That's really acidic, right?

So when various sources say you want your pH to be in the 4 - 5.5 range, are they talking saliva, urine, or vaginal secretions?

And, how is your acidity "supposed" to change during your cycle? I am at the very end of my cycle right now - will the acidity go up or down around ovulation?

Any help would be much appreciated . . .

(Now how to get DH to take those hot baths . . .)

Here as mama to W (2/04), R (5/06), D (7/09), and J (12/9/12!), co-parenting with my DH

I WOH part-time, am a doula & childbirth educator, home/unschool, and hope we are nearing the center of chaos

#2 of 8 Old 08-09-2008, 06:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mamabeakley View Post

And, how is your acidity "supposed" to change during your cycle? I am at the very end of my cycle right now - will the acidity go up or down around ovulation?
Wow. Yet another nuance that I have yet to learn about! I can't really help you out Mamabeakley, but I'm interested in reading the other responses you get. And, good luck with getting your little girl.

I'm loving life with my DH and DS (2/28/10) and expecting the surprise of my life in September! belly.gif

***4***8***12***16***20***24***28***32***36***heartbeat.gif

#3 of 8 Old 08-09-2008, 07:51 PM
Banned