Am I infertile? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 12-15-2010, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi,

My name is Arielle and I am NEW to this cite.

I hope someone can help. Here is my store in a nut shell. Ever since I hit puberty I had irregular periods. Every month, then every other month, then every 3 months then 6 months until I missed an entire year. I then went to the doctor and they put my on birth control. I stayed on it for I think was 6 months then I had some periods on my own but ended up missing again. I then went to the doctor again and they did a bunch of tests all came back normal. They said that my signals from my brain must not be getting to my ovaries so I needed to loose weight. I agreed that I needed to loose weight and I tried with no success. I was on birth control this whole time. I took the birth control until my prescription was up and then I stopped that was a little over 2 years ago. I have not had a signal period since then. I have not been back to the doctor for this in 3 years.

What should I do to start having my periods again? confused.gif

#2 of 16 Old 12-16-2010, 03:58 AM

Do you know what they tested for?  That sounds a LOT like my story, except that after quitting birth control my periods came back but were still every 3-4 months, spotting between. For me, it is PCOS.  

You should go back to the doctor and say you have not had a period in 2 years and you want to TTC.  Ask them about investigating for PCOS.  Clomid could possibly get you ovulating, but first you need to find out what's going on.  

Mommy to  N baby.gif, born 2/20/12.

#3 of 16 Old 12-16-2010, 04:52 AM

Rellie47 - First, I want to say I'm sorry you are going through this!