IUI Scheduling conflict - any alternatives? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 07-05-2011, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi all - this is my first time to this forum and hoping I can get some advice. My husband and I are on our second cycle of trying IUI. We have been TTC for about a year. My husband just started a new job and he will no longer have a schedule where he can take off work for an hour or two as needed. This is going to be a problem when we get the day in my cycle where he needs to drop off his semen for the insemination. Additionally, my doc has us do it two days in a row. His work hours are currently 6 am to 8 pm, obviously outside the hours of my doc. Anyone here ever had a similar situation? Are there any possible ways for him to produce ahead of time and it still be good?

#2 of 6 Old 07-05-2011, 04:30 PM

Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)

I'm not the best person to answer, so I hope someone else jumps in. I know some women have had their husbands freeze sperm... maybe this is an option, if your doctor will do it and there's a time on the weekend or one of your husband's days off when he could do this? Is sperm quality an issue for your husband? (That would make freezing a less-good option.) Does your husband work those hours every single day? (They seem really, really brutal - I hope this is only an every-other-day thing.) If not, you could talk to your doctor about timing your trigger shot to coincide with his schedule. As I understand it, there's a range of days you could actually trigger on. It wouldn't necessarily allow for two days of sperm collection, but it would allow for one.

Hope someone can chime in with more helpful suggestions!

Monkey (30) + Pirate (28) = a forever family (5/10) - Baby Bird (8/12), our long-awaited first, and one (9/13 @ 7w 6d); PCOS
*4***8***12***16***20***24***28***32***36**40** Oct 2014 - it's a
#3 of 6 Old 07-06-2011, 04:33 AM