Infertility is so isolating, amirite? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 09-19-2011, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi guys, I've been TTC on and off for 7 years.  I haven't had the luxury of having insurance cover treatment for much of that, so there have been long spells I couldn't see an RE.  I'm in week two of my tww after hMG/IUI, but they were looking for 5 follicles and got 2, so we'll see.  After doing this so many times, I don't feel hopeful.

It seems like everyone around me is pregnant or talking about a pregnancy of someone close to them.  And while that has probably always been the case, it is hitting me really hard right now. 

Is anyone else avoiding facebook, family events, talking to certain people and even sticking close to home to avoid running into pregnant women, babies and so on?  I love babies and mamas and my best friend is pregnant right now so I am even avoiding her.  I'm a doula and student midwife (not currently practicing) and I am thinking about becoming an accountant!  I feel really alone.

And even on infertility boards - after 7 years of watching women get pregnant around me, some with my own advice, I even feel kind of alone in these places.  But I know that I'm not.  Can this be a safe space to release feelings of sadness and isolation?

#2 of 8 Old 09-20-2011, 02:57 AM

Hi Mamma Mia, just wanted to give you a hug2.gif. You may feel all alone but yes, there are others around you that know exactly what you're going through and how you're feeling. I've been trying for 2 years and I'm so with you...I hate facebook now. i go on for about 2 minutes just to see whether i need to wish anyone a happy birthday. (in fact, i've decided that when I finally get pregnant, I'm definitely NOT going to post about it on facebook, just in case there are others like us out there!)