• 1 Post By Mirzam
  • 1 Post By sierramtngirl
  • 1 Post By Mirzam

#1 of 24 Old 03-30-2014, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

Dear mama's of IVF conceived kids,

I hope it is ok that I open this conversation. I really want to talk to other IVF moms and to hear their experiences, if possible.

Our first child--our son who is almost 9y.o. now--was conceived via IVF.

Ever since he was born, not a year has gone by that he would not be "our project" in regards to his health. When he was a baby he would vomit breastmilk all the time (he was exclusively breastfed and later I extendedly breastfed him (tandem nursed) till he was almost 4yo). As a baby/toddler he was an awful sleeper and almost did not nap. Then he developed severe eczema which over the years got infected multiple times (including with staph and MRSA). He had nasty tantrums and night terrors as a toddler/young child. I am a nutritional consultant and herbalist, so I am more or less able to keep his eczema under control in recent years, but only through a very strict diet. He has many food allergies. He had delayed speech. He stutters (while we have no family history of stuttering what so ever). He isn't sensitive of personal boundaries of other people and kids and he is rather socially immature and sometimes even awkward. He often behaves very egotistical and overly self-centered, almost obnoxious. He is short tempered and screams at us and his sister a lot. So there is always something with him, if not one than the other.

My younger daughter was conceived naturally and as easy as could be...

As crazy as it sounds, sometimes it does make me wonder if he is the way he is because of the way he was conceived. Especially when I compare him to his sister, it feels like she was somehow meant to be here and my son was not :(.