Clomid-the lowdown? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 44 Old 03-19-2005, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi ladies,
I am new to this fertility (or infertility) scene. I am 36 years old and have a 5 yr. dd. We tried to conceive for about 14 months and stopped last August. We have decided to give it another shot though with some assistance of a fertility dr. Though the tests have not all been completed, it sounds as if Clomid will probably be the solution, due to possible lack of ovulation. A friend of of mine was telling me about the side effects she had on fertility drugs. The major being serious mood swings. Others being weight gain and she said the sex wasn't so great due to dryness.
Is there anyone who didn't have horrible side effects from this drug. I thought the only concern I would have on Clomid would be the risk of multiples (Accck!) But the mood swings scare me as well. I am already a tad tempermental at times (I blame it on my Irish temper) and I would hate to take out hormone induced moods on my dd.
Please, if anyone had good or bad into on Clomid, please share.
Thanks!
Emsmomtoo
#2 of 44 Old 03-19-2005, 12:31 PM

I had no noticeable side effects at all, but what I have read and observed says long term Clomid use is not all that helpful. I would try acupuncture to help with the cycles, then maybe a couple months of clomid after. And yup, the twin thing with clomid seems very common. The injectables are a whole other side effect story....
#3 of 44 Old 03-19-2005, 08:24 PM