Paragard - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-04-2009, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My husband and I are looking for a preventative that doesn't involve hormones, charting (I am not very good at keeping up, and my cycle isn't regular right now), or condoms (I have a slight latex allergy, and the lamb skin ones are expensive). I thought that Paragard would be the best alternative. But, I have had some people tell me that it's not good for you, and I have read of some horrible side effects and possible bad things that can happen. Does anyone have this IUD? Any thoughts? Any experiences?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-04-2009, 07:01 PM

I had super heavy periods, horrible PMS, mood swings, and, I think, copper toxicity, from my Paragard IUD. Some women swear by it, but it wasn't a good fit for me. I am now charting and am much happier.

Mama to DD (5) DD (3) and DS (2 months)
Old 05-04-2009, 07:43 PM

I sound like a Paragard commercial sometimes.
I've had mine for 3 yrs., will be getting it out soon to TTC but I'll probably get another after the baby's born.
It does cause heavier periods but my periods were heavy to start with, so what's a little more?
The stuff about copper toxicity is pretty out there, and not really backed by science. What else about them have you heard is bad for you? The most common side effect is heavier periods and/or cramping-- ibuprofen treats both. There's a risk of it coming out but that's less likely if you've had a baby, and it's not really a potential health hazard. There are very rare risks, like uterine perforation, but these are so statistically unlikely that I can't see why anyone would let that influence their decision.
Old 05-04-2009, 07:49 PM