So how effective is the pull out method? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 24 Old 01-16-2010, 02:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I heard somewhere that it's about as effective as condoms? My obgyn asked me what bc method I'm using and I told her withdrawl. She wrote me back saying that I should start taking prenatal vitamins now because I will probably get pregnant that way. I have been using this method off and on for over five years. It is way more freeing than charting seems. I would never go back on bcp. An IUD is out of the question for me because I had an ectopic years ago. Overall I am pretty happy about my method. It seems like the only option for me. I went ahead and started taking a womans vitamin w folic acid. I figured it couldn't hurt anything. If I had brought home prenatals my dh would flip. Here's to good health!

living with alopecia universalis (google it), learning alongside my children DD 2003blahblah.gif DS 2007fencing.gifDD 2011jog.gif

#2 of 24 Old 01-16-2010, 02:17 AM

FWIW, I got pregnant using that method.
#3 of 24 Old 01-16-2010, 02:23 AM

That's how I got pregnant!

Attachment-Parenting mom to darling DS : (January 2006). : : : : :
#4 of 24 Old 01-16-2010, 02:25 AM

That's how I got pregnant too!
#5 of 24 Old 01-16-2010, 03:01 AM

I think that if done properly it can be very effective..but if you are having sex on very fertile days then i think there is a risk for sure. i have three "unplanned" babies..all were conceived when my SO did NOT pull out. we have yet to get pregnant when he has. that said, i was sure i was not fertile when i conceived my last daughter. i was on cd7 or 8.. so go figure. i would love one more oops baby

Quote:
Once in while you get shown the light in the strangest of places if you look at it right....

#6 of 24 Old 01-16-2010, 03:05 AM

It's pretty effective IF

1) You truly trust your SO to use it correctly and get out on time.