I'm new! How to decide when you are ready? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 01-07-2011, 03:54 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi!  I'm new in the Mothering Community.  I live in Amsterdam, NL, and I just turned 31.  I have lurked on Mothering for a long time...

I am curious why under Fertility, there is no category for discussing IF you are ready to get pregnant.  I can't be the only one who struggles with this question, right?  My husband has been wanting a child for a couple years now, but I always putting my career first (I travel almost 60% of my time).  I really struggle with this question.

Everyone I ask always says "you are never ready", but that has not been very helpful as I struggle with this question.   I DO want to be a mother, just not YET.  Maybe "you are never ready" is just not the advice that I want to hear.

How did you know you were ready to build a family?

krisnicjohn likes this.
#2 of 20 Old 01-07-2011, 05:38 AM

I just want to say that I think this is a great question and I would love to see this type of discussion.

We have decided just recently to TTC (or at least stop TTA), but we still have some considerable reservations. What is this going to do to our lives? Our finances? Our marriage? My body? I'd love to hear from others who struggled with their decision and how it turned out. With the benefit of hindsight, would you have changed anything?

ETA Sorry, I didn't mean to hijack your thread with all my own questions. redface.gif I just have a lot of them!

krisnicjohn likes this.
#3 of 20 Old 01-07-2011, 01:37 PM